Planning a conversation and speeck.

Planning all of your speeches by picking a central theme, the speech’s one main idea. When planning your speech, ask yourself, “What is the one thing I want my audience to get from my speech?” That’s your theme. A speech without a theme is like a swimming pool without water, a car without an engine, Roseanne’s fourth husband without a cluewell, you get the idea.
Your theme must be general enough to fill the allotted time, but specific enough to respond to the topic, fit with any overall conference theme, and hold the audience’s attention. Study this chart to see what I mean:
Topic Wide Enough to Tow a Battleship Through
Topic Narrow Enough to Fit in a Coach Seat
College Paying for a college education in the 90s.
Work Jobs for the 21st century.
Athletics Should amateur athletes be paid?
Television Should “infomercials” be banned?
Computers Jump on the Information Superhighway.
Take the following quiz to see which topics have been sufficiently narrowed for a 20-minute speech. Circle the number for each topic that you think is specific enough for our mythical speaker. Ignore the ones that will have the poor sucker speaking until the cows come home.
1. Child care.
2. Ways to find caring, reliable, and inexpensive child care.
3. Divorce in the United States.
4. How counseling and mediation can help reduce the divorce rate.
5. Sexual harassment.
6. The problems of sexual harassment in the workplace.
7. Exercise classes/Aerobic exercise.
8. How to pick the exercise class that’s right for you.
9. Stocks and bonds.
10. How to invest wisely in the bond market.
You’re on to me, aren’t you? In each case, the even-numbered choice is better because it has been narrowed enough to make a good base for a 20-minute speech. The odd-numbered topics are wide enough to make adequate suspension bridges.

17 thoughts on “Planning a conversation and speeck.

  1. Yo!. Definitely loved your post. It was especially educational and useful. I hope you do not mind me blogging regarding this article on my personal website. Will definitely link back to you. Cool theme you’ve got! Merci.

  2. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you can be a great author.I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and will often come back later in life. I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great job, have a nice afternoon!

  3. The next time I read a weblog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as a lot as this one. I imply, I know it was my option to read, but I truly thought youd have one thing interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you possibly can fix in case you werent too busy on the lookout for attention.

  4. What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found It positively useful and it has helped me out loads. I hope to contribute & help other users like its aided me. Great job.

  5. Hi! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I really enjoy reading through your articles. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same subjects? Thank you so much!

  6. Thank you for another magnificent post. Where else could anyone get that type of info in such an ideal way of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I’m on the look for such information.

  7. Hi near, just crooked addicted to alert to your weblog through Google, and located that it is especially informative. I’m gonna inspect made known used for brussels. I will be obliged when you proceed this in potential. Several community will likely be real benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  8. I imagine you ended a couple of relatively fascinating points. Not extremely several individuals would especially acquire hooked on consideration this the way you just did. I’m correctly impressed that near’s a lot regarding this subject that has been open and you did it so accurately, with hence to a great extent category. Top-notch one, be grateful you.

  9. Hey, fantastic website! I stumbled upon all the information I want. I actually do not know of a lot of web pages using these kinds of excellent as well as reputable information! Incredible perform! Keep up, internet site tons in my faves!

  10. I was blown away by in which my mate simply tout your own personal web page. I asked to be with her address, and i also discovered. It does not take a pair of us. Superb search engine optimization, remarkable content material, good published articles, you may want considerably more?

Comments are closed.